ARENA welcomes new Board members

Image Credit: Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA)

Energy Minister Angus Taylor has announced the appointment of three new members to the Board of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) for two-year terms.

The new board members, which include banker and research analyst Mr John Hirjee, economist and energy consultant Ms Anna Matysek, and technology entrepreneur Mr Justin Butcher, will join current board members Ms Stephanie Unwin and Mr Dougal McOmish who have each been reappointed for a further year.

The new Board will be led by the recently appointed Chair Justin Punch, who is an experienced environmental investor focused on climate and energy investment.

In making the announcement, Minister Taylor said the new Board encompasses the skills and experience necessary to support ARENA as it works to deliver on priorities under the Technology Investment Roadmap.

“The new appointees to the Board have strong skills in energy market analytics, strategic planning and investment which will assist in ensuring the most innovative and effective projects are backed by ARENA,” the Minister said.

“The new Board members will be supported by the renewable energy expertise and corporate knowledge held by re-appointees Ms Unwin and Mr McOmish who have already successfully supported ARENA in its mission to increase the supply and lower the cost of renewables in Australia.”

Mr Taylor also thanked the four outgoing Board members for their ‘exemplary service’ during their tenure with the agency.

“I thank the departing board members, the Chair Mr Martijn Wilder AM, Ms Samantha Hogg, Ms Susan Jeanes and Ms Meg McDonald,” he said.

“They have all provided exemplary service to the Board, to ARENA and to Australia’s renewable energy sector.”

ARENA was established in July 2012 to improve the competitiveness of renewable energy technologies in Australia.

Image credit: