Winners announced at 2023 Hunter Manufacturing Awards

Image credit: Hunter Manufacturing Awards

The 2023 Hunter Manufacturing Awards has recognised the local industry’s leading players at a gala presentation at the Newcastle Exhibition & Convention Centre. 

Carrington-based market leader in highly intelligent visual information systems, Hi-Vis, clinched the 2023 Manufacturer of the Year – 50 Employees or More Award, along with the Excellence in Sustainable Operations Award and the Excellence in Manufacturing Capability Award. 

Hi-Vis products have been keeping Australia safe for more than 40 years, the HMA said in a media release. The company has made significant investments in manufacturing technology and enjoys a close relationship with the engineering department at the University of Newcastle. 

Senquip, a telemetry products maker based in Taylors Beach, was recognised as the Manufacturer of the Year – Less than 50 Employees. The company’s products are used for monitoring and controlling remote machinery in harsh industrial environments. 

Senquip also won the Excellence in Product Design Award for its patented telemetry products that are highly adaptable and remove the need for bespoke solutions. 

The company has customers in New Zealand, England, France, Spain, the US, India, Italy, Uruguay, South Africa, and Papua New Guinea, and is seeing significant potential for growth in each of these markets. 

The event, held on 20 October, marks the 19th year of the HMA

Jacqui Daley, chair of the HMA, said this year’s theme for the event “Made in Hunter, for the World,” encapsulates the essence of what the Hunter Manufacturing Awards stands for. 

“In a world marked by increasing demand and government initiatives aimed at advancing manufacturing capabilities, our local manufacturing sector is experiencing a resurgence,” Daley said. “Manufacturers are innovating across a diverse range of sectors, from the medical and food industries to supply chains, embracing smart technologies and revitalising traditional processes.”

For the full list of 2023 award winners, visit