2014 AustCham Westpac Awards winners announced


The winners of the 21th edition of the AustCham Westpac Australia China Business Awards were announced last Thursday at a Gala Awards Ceremony held at the Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel in Shanghai.

Provided image
Provided image

Organised by the Australian Chambers of Commerce in Greater China and sponsored by Westpac Banking Corporation, the awards are held in recognition of Australia’s most innovative and enterprising companies who have successfully contributed to the thriving Australia China business relationship.

Present at the award giving ceremony in Shanghai were the Australian Ambassador to China H.E. Ms Frances Adamson, as well as all Consul-Generals from across Greater China.

This year’s AustCham awards featured a new category — the Individual Award — which went into the hands of Fortescue Metals Group Chairman, Andrew Forest, for his great contribution in promoting the Australia China Bilateral Relationship.

“Andrew has played a critical role in strengthening Australian China relations. He has engaged and brought together both Chinese and Australian business leaders to better understand and deepen the trade and investment opportunities between the two countries,” Andrew Whitford, Westpac’s Head of Greater China said.

“Similarly, Westpac has been supporting our customers, driving business prosperity through the China corridor for over 40 years. In that time we have seen some great success stories of Australian companies thriving in China. As a leading Australian bank we understand the importance of celebrating these achievements and this is one way we can recognise the companies that are leading the way in China through their innovations.”

AustCham Westpac ACBA 2014 Winners are:

Business Excellence Award for Business Services Sponsored by Qantas: Transtar International Freight.

Business Excellence Award for Education & Training Sponsored by Austrade: CPA Australia.

Business Excellence Award for Sustainability & CSR Sponsored by Westpac: Brien Holden Vision Institute.

Business Excellence Award for Construction & Design Sponsored by Huawei: PLACE Design Group.

Business Excellence Award for Manufacturing Sponsored by Hays: Boral.

Business Excellence Award for Primary Industries Sponsored by Australia China Connections: Lynch Group.

The Entrepreneurial Award: Motion Global Limited.

The Recognition Award for Great Individual Impact on the Australian China Bilateral Relationship Sponsored by Cheung Kong Infrastructure: Fortescue Metals Group Chairman, Andrew Forrest.