Applications now open for the 2024 APCO Annual Awards

Image supplied.

The Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) announced that entries for the highly anticipated 2024 APCO Annual Awards are officially open.

Open to all industry participants, these awards recognise the outstanding efforts of businesses and individuals across Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands in advancing towards a circular economy for packaging.

This year introduces a new category, the Australasian Recycling Label (ARL) Excellence Award. This accolade celebrates organisations that have demonstrated exceptional use of the ARL to enhance their packaging practices.

Additionally, other award categories include Reuse, Recycled Content, and Consumer and Industry Education.

Partnering with the Banksia Foundation, APCO said it ensures fairness, expertise, and impartiality in the judging process through an independent panel.

Chris Foley, CEO of APCO, remarked, “The last twelve months have seen some of the most impressive efforts yet across the industry to improve packaging circularity.”

He continued, “Everyone in the industry knows now that business-as-usual isn’t going to cut it, and the way many businesses across the sector have risen to this challenge has set a fantastic example for the rest of the industry.”

Entries can be submitted via the Banksia Foundation portal until 19 July 2024, with participants encouraged to submit early.

The winners will be honoured at an esteemed awards ceremony on 21 November 2024, at the Doltone House in Jones Bay Wharf, Sydney.

Early bird tickets are currently available, offering attendees a canapé networking hour, followed by a sit-down dinner and the awards presentation.

The diverse award categories include:

  • NEW: Australasian Recycling Label (ARL) Excellence Award (APCO Members only)
  • Best of the Best Reporting Excellence Award (APCO Members only)
  • Consumer Education Award
  • Improved Recycling Systems Award
  • Industry Education Award
  • Recycled Content Award
  • Reuse Award
  • Sustainable Packaging Guidelines (SPGs) Implementation Award
  • Sustainability Champion Award

APCO also acknowledges outstanding member reporting through a separate set of awards, selected based on the quality and merit of reports.

These members will also be recognised during the ceremony.

For further information, to submit an application, or to book tickets, visit