NSW Renewable Energy Sector Board opens manufacturing opportunities

Image Credit: Energy NSW @energynsw

The NSW Government unveiled today the State’s first Renewable Energy Sector Board – boosting local job and manufacturing opportunities with stronger renewables commitments.

“We have brought all the key players to the table to make sure we don’t miss any opportunities to support local jobs and industry as we modernise the State’s energy infrastructure over the coming decades,” said Energy Minister Matt Kean.

The formation of the Board follows suit to the NSW Government’s commitment to renewable energy as evidenced by the energy legislation passed through the NSW Parliament in November 2020.

Chaired by Daniel Walton from the Australian Worker’s Union and Craig Memery from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre, the Board will be responsible for sourcing and supplying materials and contracting arrangements.

“My brief to the Board is do not leave any stone unturned. This is a once in a generation opportunity to secure the economic and employment benefits under our Electricity Infrastructure Roadmap for our local industries, workers and consumers,” Mr Kean added.

It will also devise strategies to give NSW manufacturers a foothold in the emerging ‘green’ supply industry, while creating policies to support new and existing jobs.

“These new policies should drive genuine accountability and replace the ‘tick and flick’ culture of procurement which has favoured overseas suppliers in recent decades,” said Walton

“This Board will play a critical role in maximising the use of locally produced and supplied goods. This will both sustain and boost jobs for local workers and foster opportunities for apprentices and trainees in the renewable energy industry.”

The Board is set to submit its first report to the Minister by the tail end of March 2021.

NSW Renewable Energy Sector Board members


  • Daniel Walton, National Secretary, Australian Workers’ Union
  • Craig Memery, Policy Team Leader, Energy + Water Consumers’ Advocacy Program, PIAC


  • Mark Cain, Chief Executive, Australian Steel Institute
  • John Coyle, Director, Varley Group
  • Anna Freeman, Policy Director – Energy Generation, Clean Energy Council
  • Lynne Gallagher, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Consumers Australia
  • Grahame Kelly, General Secretary, CFMEU (Mining and Energy Division)
  • James Hay, Chief Executive, Energy Corporation of NSW
  • Paul Italiano, Chief Executive Officer, TransGrid
  • Justin Page, Secretary NSW & ACT, Electrical Trades Union
  • Matthew Robertson, National Strategy & Market Development Manager, BlueScope Steel Australia
  • Stacey Sleeman, Chief Financial Officer & Company Secretary, Tomago Aluminium
  • Rod Stowe, former NSW Fair Trading Commissioner
  • Cory Wright, State Secretary, Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union