Winners revealed for Victorian Training Awards 2022

Image credit: Victorian Training Awards' Facebook page

The Victorian government has announced the winners for the 68th annual Victorian Training Awards, recognising 15 awardees for their significant contributions to the TAFE and training sector

The awards are intended to highlight cutting-edge talent in the state’s vocational training sector and reinforcing the positive impact of the Andrews Labor government’s free TAFE courses. 

Minister for Training and Skills and Higher Education Gayle Tierney announced the awardees, who were selected from 47 finalists. 

This year’s winners include Wellsprings for Women, Bendigo Kangan Institute, Victoria University Polytechnic and Master Builders Association of Victoria. 

Mary Faraone, chief executive of Holmesglen TAFE, and Parkville College’s Howard Kelly received the Lynne Kosky Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement, for the incredible contributions they have both made to the sector, the state government said in a media statement. 

Each category awardee receives $5,000 in prize money and a 2022 Victorian Training Award trophy. 

Winners of the People’s Choice Award receives an Apple Macbook laptop worth more than $2,000 and individuals or entities with the most award categories in their belt will represent Victoria at the Australian Training Awards in November. 

“Congratulations to all of our winners for their resilience, hard work and commitment to education – they are leading the Victorian TAFE and training sector,” Tierney said, 

“All the winners are helping to lead the Victorian TAFE and training sector to make it work better for more people across the state.”

Award winners – 2022 Victorian Training Awards:

  • Apprentice of the Year – Chhunly Taking, Holmesglen TAFE
  • Trainee of the Year – Franchesca Morrell, Bendigo TAFE
  • Vocational Student of the Year – Caitlin Cook, South West TAFE
  • School-based Apprentice or Trainee of the Year – Jaynaya Miller, Bendigo TAFE
  • Koorie Student of the Year – Desirae Kilduff, Bendigo TAFE
  • Teacher/Trainer of the Year – Rebecca Toleman, South West TAFE
  • Small Employer of the Year – Smart Business Solutions Group
  • Large Employer of the Year – M.C. Herd Geelong
  • Employer Award for Apprenticeship Development – New Plumbing Solutions
  • Community Training Provider of the Year – Wellsprings for Women
  • Inclusive Training Provider of the Year – Victoria University Polytechnic
  • Small Training Provider of the Year – Master Builders Association of Victoria
  • Large Training Provider of the Year – Bendigo TAFE and Kangan Institute
  • Industry Collaboration Award – Arborists don’t grow on trees, Arbortrim Australia Pty Ltd, Citywide & Arboriculture Australia