The innovation, vision and entrepreneurial spirit of Victoria’s manufacturing sector was on showcase at last night’s Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame Awards.

Minister for Jobs, Innovation and Trade Martin Pakula congratulated the winners and finalists for their work in continuing to take Victorian businesses to the next level.

“The Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame Awards highlight the strength and competitiveness of Victoria’s manufacturing industry and I want to congratulate all our outstanding winners and finalists,” said Mr Pakula.

Inaugural awards were presented to Air Radiators, awarded the Leader in Innovative Product Development and Commercialisation, and to Holden Special Vehicles, who received the award for Leader in Global Supply Chain Partnerships.

For their excellence in leadership and innovation in the manufacturing industry, Rochelle Avinu from Leica Biosystems was awarded the Woman Manufacturer of the Year award, and Nicholas Orchowski from RUAG Australia received the award for Young Manufacturer of the Year.

The Manufacturer of the Year in the Large Business category was awarded to Dulux Australia, Robert Bosch Australia took out the Leader in Industry 4.0 award and Barker Trailers was awarded the 2019 Leader in Workforce Skills Development.

Geoffrey Bell was inducted into the Hall of Fame Honour Roll, in recognition of the evolution and growth of A.W.Bell, established as a family pattern making business in 1952, with the company now employing 100 people and providing unique and one-off metal parts and prototypes for businesses and entrepreneurs.

A number of other companies were also recognised with awards for excellence, including Safetech and Columbia Australia, with RUAG Australia the latest company inductee into the prestigious Hall of Fame.

Since 2001, the Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame has been recognising outstanding businesses and individuals in the manufacturing industry.

“Our manufacturing industry is one of Victoria’s greatest strengths and successfully exports, invests and contributes to our thriving economy,” Mr Pakula added.

Victoria’s manufacturing industry contributes over $30 billion to the Victorian economy annually, employs more than 270,000 people and competes globally with $19.6 billion annual exports in 2017-18.

The full list of winners and finalists of the 2019 Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame Awards are listed below:

2019 Company Award winners

  • Company Induction: RUAG Australia
  • Manufacturer of the Year – Small Business: Columbia Australia
  • Manufacturer of the Year – Medium Business: Safetech
  • Manufacturer of the Year – Large Business: Dulux Australia
  • Leader in Workforce Skills Development: Barker Trailers
  • Leader in Industry 4.0: Robert Bosch Australia
  • Leader in Innovative Product Development and Commercialisation: Air Radiators
  • Leader in Global Supply Chain Partnerships: Holden Special Vehicles

2019 Individual Award winners

Honour Roll – Service to Industry: Geoffrey Bell
Young Manufacturer of the Year:  Nicholas Orchowksi
Woman Manufacturer of the Year: Rochelle Avinu