Rockwell Automation is now accepting nominations for 2016 Manufacturing Safety Excellence Awards

Image provided

The application period for Rockwell Automation’s fourth annual Manufacturing Safety Excellence Awards is now open.

Image provided

The awards recognise manufacturers, machine builders (OEMs) or system integrators that demonstrate a true commitment to safety across three key pillars of a comprehensive safety program: a strong safety culture, well-executed compliance procedures, and effective use of current, machine-safety technology.

“Last year’s winners – The Clorox Company, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company, Kimberly-Clark Corporation and Paper Converting Machine Company (PCMC) – were selected because they embrace safety as a means to achieve business goals,” said Mark Eitzman, safety market development manager, Rockwell Automation.

“They go beyond compliance and make safety an integral part of the company culture and machine design processes – improving plant productivity and company profitability.”


Jason Stover, senior electrical project engineer, PCMC said winning the 2015 award highlighted the company’s commitment to improving machine safety for its customers.

“As an OEM, we differentiate ourselves from competitors by guiding our customers through the safety process and educating them on the opportunities safety presents. Some might not recognise safety as a fundamental part of equipment, but by the time we’re done, they see the value,” Mr Stover remarked.

The awards also recognise companies that have successful collaboration between their engineering and EHS departments, which greatly reduces injury rates while also improving production efficiency.

“We achieve success with everyone in the organisation working and learning together, including engineering, EHS and operations,” said Dennis G. Averill, CIH, CSP, global director of safety and hygiene, Kimberly-Clark.

“This collaboration is not only done conceptually, but also during the actual execution of risk assessments, safety standards development and more.”

The 2016 winners will be announced in the fall, joining a distinguished list of past winners including Bevcorp, Corning Environmental Technologies, General Motors, Procter & Gamble and the PepsiCo divisions of Walkers Crisps and Pepsi Flavors.

Nominations close on 31 August, 2016.

For more detailed information, please visit the company’s website.