New EV charging stations to be constructed in North West Victoria


The Victorian Government is investing in new electric vehicle (EV) charging stations that will boost tourism, create jobs and reduce emissions in the north western part of the state.

The State Government will invest $664,000 to build more than 15 new EV charging stations in rural centres including Ouyen, Swan Hill, Kerang, Maryborough and Echuca, as well as smaller rural towns and key tourist sites.

Victorian Energy Minister Lily D’Ambrosio said the new sites were identified as priority locations in the ‘Charging the Regions’ report undertaken by the Central Victorian Greenhouse Alliance and local governments.

She said the new stations will expand green tourism opportunities in the state while increasing the range of electric vehicles across regional Victoria.

“The new electric vehicle charging stations will put this region on the map for electric vehicles – connecting Melbourne to Mildura and unlocking north west Victoria for electric vehicle tourists and locals alike,” the Minister said. 

“More Victorians will be driving electric vehicles in the future, that’s why we’re building the infrastructure to meet this demand.”

Member for Northern Victoria Mark Gepp, added: “The increased uptake of electric vehicles has clear benefits for local communities, and building these stations will create local jobs and deliver an important economic boost for Victoria’s north west.”

“Building charging stations in regional areas will boost tourism, reduce carbon emissions and help us build a cleaner, more sustainable future,” Mr Gepp concluded.

Image credit: